If you are anything like me (a veggie girl living in the great BBQ-lovin’ State of Texas), you have probably been asked the question, “What’s a vegan?” more times than you can remember.
And all too often, I’ve received responses like “Ohh, so you worship some weird god, right?” or “So you only wear black?”
No, no no… I love my Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. And I try to throw some color in my wardrobe from time to time… but hey, black is classy ;) Anyways, I thought it might be nice to share a little chart with everyone showing the many different types of vegetarianism. Although my ideal self is a raw food vegan, I consider myself a lacto vegetarian, as I might have the occasional dairy product when eating out.. no one is perfect, but this is a habit I am trying to break.
So, what type of vegetarian are you?
Raw Food Vegan: This diet excludes all food and products of animal origin, as well as food cooked at a temperature above 105 °F. A raw vegan diet includes raw vegetables and fruits, nuts and nut pastes, grain and legume sprouts, seeds, plant oils, sea vegetables, herbs, mushrooms, and fresh juices
Vegan: a person who does not eat or use animal products
Lacto Vegetarian: a person who abstains from eating meat and eggs, but eats dairy products
Ovo Vegetarian: a person who abstains from eating meat and dairy, but consumes eggs
Lacto-Ovo Vegetarian: a person who abstains from eating meat, but eats eggs and dairy products
Pescatarian: a person who does not eat meat but does eat fish
Flexitarian: one who consumes a plant-based diet with the occasional inclusion of meat, eggs or dairy products